RSS: Why You Should Do It

RSS

(Warning: this post is self promotion at its finest.)

Before I started one of my current classes, PR New Media with Prof. Quigley (I think there should be a character in Harry Potter named after him), I had no idea what RSS (Real Simple Syndication) feeds were. I did not read any blogs, I did not know what a megabyte really was, and I could not fix a computer. I still don’t totally know what a megabyte is and I definitely cannot fix your computer, but now I am beginning to understand the beauty of RSS.

One of our assignments was to go online and subscribe to the RSS feeds from six different blogs, and then write about what we learned from those blogs. Seems simple enough, but I had some trouble even figuring out how to work the RSS button. I had never clicked the little button because I knew that someone was tracking what buttons I clicked. As it turns out, our online activity is being tracked anyway, so it doesn’t really matter if we press RSS…so press that button away!

But why should you press that weird button with the rainbows? RSS will allow you to be notified when ever I write a blog post. It will allow you to get updates every time I write, which is not more than roughly once a day though most of the time less. These automatic updates will allow you to read what this guy (*pointing at myself*) has to say about music, politics, life, and anything else I can think of.

Now why would you want these consistent updates? You might do it because you like reading my blog posts. You might do it because you want to know what a graduating senior at BU looking to get a job is thinking about. Or maybe you don’t want to depend on Facebook for the update on my blog. So click that button. The button which really shows the beauty of the internet.

The beauty of the internet is that we can design our own newspapers.  We click RSS on the sites that we think are in line with what we want to read about. If you are interested in “X” you can simply subscribe to all of those on RSS with what we want to read about. It is an incredible thought, that you, and no one else, can shape your very own newspaper. No more of the “Lifestyle” section, just the concert listing and movie listings. You can shape your types of news that you want to read.

My goal is to be someone you want in your news group. So go ahead, click the tiny blue (it is blue on my blog…don’t know why) button. I want to be a part of your newspaper. What do you have to lose?

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Nonprofit AF

Exploring the fun and frustrations of nonprofit work

So You Want To Write A Holocaust Book?

Sam and Esther Goldberg, my in-laws, survived the Holocaust and their story is truly remarkable. My journey to write a book telling their story will take me down dark alleys and through rays of light and hope. Through this blog, I hope to post ideas, memories and insights about the Holocaust, Esther and Sam, and humanity's struggle to come to grips with what happened in Europe between 1939 and 1945.

CNN Political Ticker

- All politics, all the time

A SEATTLE HIP-HOP BLOG

EST 2009 - FIN 2016 | DEDICATED TO TOWN MOVEMENT

Above the Market

Perspectives on capital markets and personal finance

Whistling In The Wind

Economics, Politics, Religion and Esperanto

Gods of Advertising

We make you want what you don't need.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Plumbing For The Pipe Dream

Some dreams require dedication, others require a Roto-Rooter

31daysofawesome

Finding Awesome in this messed up Journey called life

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Sleepless But Not In Seattle

A Seattleite living in Boston with diverse interests, I can't sleep so I write.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

